Analyzing Traffic

Lesson

This week’s lesson was all about looking at website traffic. it’s important to take notes on how many people are coming to your site, what kind of people (demographics), and where are they coming from (acquisition). This knowledge can help you direct your attention to a more specific audience. Page views are another important aspect to consider: which pages receive more attention? Why are they getting that attention? How can I direct traffic to other pages? It also may be a good idea to see how long people stayed to see if people were actually reading your posts.

Google Analytics was recommended more than the other examples provided. A brief one-page summary of the important elements to look at was given to me. Aspects such as sessions (both new and returning), page views, and users where considered most beneficial to consider.

Application

Acquisition is something I was more interested than the rest. We have talked in Com 107 about how to promote our blogs on different social media platforms. By seeing which one is performing best, we can adjust our directions on other platforms. Each social media website has different audiences and post types, so the same methods won’t work for all. For example, for Instagram, it is super important to have a nice quality photo. For Twitter, a photo is not needed, but may help. As for Facebook, both a picture and description are important.

As for knowing the demographics, we have talked in multiple Com classes about knowing our audience. Public Relations mentioned how important it was to know the consumers in order to know what information they were looking for and how to keep company information open and honest. Com 106 and 107 mentioned knowing the audience in order to write to and for them. When writing in general, it’s definitely beneficial to know who you are aiming your message at.

Article

This week’s article is on the potential dangers Easter decorations pose to pets. For this article, I had to do research to make sure I had the correct information on what is poisonous to pets and the side-effects they may cause.

About Rena

I was born and raised in South Jersey, and I can tell you something I love about every season. Recently, I've been getting into beauty, but my main interests are writing, reading, and trying to organize my life. My current project is to finish editing a novel. And I love cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment