Editorial Calendars

Lesson

This week is all about organization. Editorial calendars allow editors to keep track of their writers and the writers projects and deadlines. When coming up with content and trying to keep up with multiple writers, it’s nice to have an easy calendar displaying all the plans for the blog.

Also noted was the difference between content and themes. Content is what the articles are about. The theme is the overarching meaning of what the articles are about. For example you can have the theme of gun violence, and then publish various articles about gun laws or personal stories in reference to that theme, like Marie Claire recently did.

In addition, besides having a calendar with everyone’s assignments, it is also important to make sure you are collaborating with them. Google Drive is great for housing ideas from everyone.

Application

Types of organization aren’t really discussed in classes. Organization is something we learn on the job or by working. Most likely, we will not be editors when graduating college, we will be writers. However, it is worth considering how you might manage a team for future reference or for suggesting in your own work environment.

Article

This will be my last article. It will cover what I learned from my adopted cat, Smudge. It will hopefully be heartwarming and touching. I have sincerely enjoyed writing pet articles for this blog and writing for this blog has been a wonderful experience.

About Rena

I was born and raised in South Jersey, and I can tell you something I love about every season. Recently, I've been getting into beauty, but my main interests are writing, reading, and trying to organize my life. My current project is to finish editing a novel. And I love cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment